Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-02-2012, 07:56 AM - 10 Likes   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Photography Travel Report: What did and didn't work...

I recently got back from 24 days in Israel. I'm a teacher at a seminary, so a significant part of my trip was getting pictures of the archaeological and biblical sites. I also will be having some of my pictures licensed by a Bible software company (BibleWorks) to be incorporated in the program and linked with biblical texts. I was also getting some instruction on Photography and Archaeology that would require some macro work.

I want to make some notes to myself about what worked or not, and since people on this forum are regularly asking what equipment to bring on trips, I thought I would share my observations here.

Note that this was somewhat longer than a usual 2 week trip. I also had the specialized archaeology-related work which entailed bringing a bunch of extra equipment. I was on my own, so I didn't have to worry about the rush of being part of a tour group. That was good, but I also ended up walking over 150 miles and biking another 70 miles during which times I was carrying whatever gear I wanted to lug. Also note that I was in Israel in June. That means no rain to worry about, lots of harsh sun during the day, and very hot. All this is to say that every trip is different and plan accordingly...

First I'll list the gear I brought, and then I'll add comments.
  • CAMERA:
    • Pentax K-x (I have an OpTech Wrist Strap attached to it.)
    • Canon A710IS (an older P&S for backup)
  • LENSES:
    • Pentax DA 18-135 F3.5-5.6 w/ hood - This was my walkaround and general purpose lens. I also brought along a Marumi CPL for this lens.