Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-04-2012, 08:42 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Vocabulary Question....

I think it would be good if the mods would put up a sticky thread where we can constantly add new vocabulary words...

I was reading some threads the other day and ran across the statement 'the lens had a front/back focus problem'...

Well I am new to the DSLR world and I don't know what that means.

Maybe we can have a sticky thread where people can add whatever vocab questions they want---but then at the top there can be a link to a compiled list so that people don't keep on asking the same thing over and over...kind of like a glossary...

Just a suggestion... that over time might be very useful....

07-04-2012, 08:47 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I learn by using google for the items discussed by the experts on the forum.
For example i just learned about TIFF and Eve Arnold.
"lens front back focus" give more than you could read on the subject.
07-04-2012, 09:17 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by wombat2go Quote
I learn by using google for the items discussed by the experts on the forum.
For example i just learned about TIFF and Eve Arnold.
"lens front back focus" give more than you could read on the subject.
That's the problem. I don't want more than I can read. I am reading 3 books about photography now, plus another, plus I read all day every day at work.

Just a paragraph at best will suffice and then if I need to dive in deeper so be it.

It can be like 'the photographer's dictionary'....

The idea is to make it easier not harder. Don't be like one of my college professors who I asked a simple yes or no question to and he handed me a book 2 inches thick and said 'the answer is in here'...and he did it out of spite.

At least I thought the idea of the forum was to be able to quickly access and exchange information to all help each other improve...