Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-05-2012, 12:22 PM   #1
Inactive Account

*ist ds won't play back after taking photo

Hi all, great forum, I'll be hanging out here for a while. I'm new to Dslr, photography and Pentax. I purchased an *ist-ds on ebay a few months ago it came with a few problem but for less than $200 I was glad it worked at all,The issue is the play button... When I take a pic and try to review it, nothing happens. well every once in a blue moon it might work. the pressure used to activate the button has nothing to do with it, it just works when it wants to. I have searched high and low with no luck on a fix for this issue. any help would be great, the firmware is up to date.

Thanks
The F.N.G.

07-05-2012, 02:48 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
When it doesn't work what happens if you push it again?
07-05-2012, 04:04 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Hello Oct,
I have ist ds (2) for many years and still my main camera. They work very well except in high iso above 800
As I recall, I had exactly the "blue moon" problem you describe early on; one of them was fixed in warranty.
Another similar problem is that after some use, the shutter speed adjust wheel on the upper right becomes flakey.

However the ist ds 's I have never had the low battery problem frequently reported on other early Pentax dslrs.
Also, with reports on this forum about Auto Focus problems in the later dslrs, I can say the ist ds focus beautifully, "never misses" and even works in low light if the flash is up. ( but that scares the subjects!)
As I had electronics background, i have a donor ist ds here which I have stripped down for parts, documenting the procedure which is on another thread.
I have not opened up the blue play button area , but i expect it is same as the others,: a special mini switch component soldered to a flex circuit.