Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-07-2012, 06:29 PM   #1

Need help with Multiple Exposure

Hi everyone, I just got an old K1000 from ebay a few days ago, and I'm completely new with film cameras.

I've been trying to play with multiple exposure lately, and it doesn't seem to work. I try to hold the film release button while turning the lever, but the film still advances. What have I done wrong? Thank you!

07-07-2012, 08:03 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Sometimes this happens.

To avoid or at least minimize the effect, first use the rewind (without pressing the release button!) to straighten the film. Don't use too much force, otherwise the tension may move the film a bit in reverse direction later on. After doing this, you would need 3 hands - but with some practice it works - to still hold the rewind in fixed position, press the release button, and use the advance lever at the same time.

Some small movement of the film still cannot always be avoided, specially if you got not enough or too much tension on the film. You have to develop the feeling for the rewind trick.

There was a thread in this forum for the subject in respect to the Pentax ME Super (about year ago?). But the procedure is mainly the same with all such cameras, not only the K1000, and not only with Pentax.

EDIT:
AFTER taking the second (or third, fourth,...) shot to the same frame, the release may not yet be synchronized with the advance mechanism. It can happen that then the film will advance only half a frame. To make sure you don't destroy your work (and the next picture), after the advance to the next ordinary shot make one empty picture (lens cap on). And keep in mind that the counter may not be correctly synchronized, too.

EDIT 2:
This is a link to one of several threads:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-film-slr-discussion/94015-pentax-m...-exposure.html