Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-21-2012, 04:47 PM   #1

Which lens?

Hi.
I am brand new to the SLR world, and have got myself a K-5 yesterday. I bought the kit with the 18-55 lens. As my budget for a camera almost doubled the amount of $ I imagined when choosing the K-5, theres no room for a tele-lens the first couple of months But as my idea by having a SLR is to take pictures of the forest/birds/wildlife right outside my door, I better make a lens high priority - I'm pretty sure the fox/badger/owl/eagle is long gone when I try to sneak in on them with the 18-55 lens! My means are limited, so can you recommend an economy lens I can use to take some OK photos from a distance of, say 300-350ft? I am going to buy some quality lenses down the road, but right now I just have to be content with the next-best (or third-best)

Kind regards

Frank

07-21-2012, 05:08 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
For shooting wildlife, the longer the better. I have used a Sigma 70-300 and a Pentax DA 55-300. I've gotten some nice photos with both. You can also sometimes find an older manual focus zoom or long prime in the Marketplace or on auction sites. I also have used a Sigma 170-500 which I am trying to sell now since I recently traded for a Sigma 50-500.

Last edited by GvilleRick; 07-22-2012 at 04:28 PM.
07-21-2012, 05:09 PM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter

Probably one of the best bang for buck is the DA 55-300. There are two versions ; standard "DA" is with metal mount and quick-shift and comes with a hood. The DA-L is the kit version with plastic mount and no quick-shift. Optically they are identical. Neither is Weather Resistant (WR). I believe there is a DA-L with hood included that just went up in the market place for fairly reasonable price.

Last edited by K57XR; 07-21-2012 at 06:03 PM.
07-21-2012, 06:37 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums