Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-29-2012, 03:09 PM   #1
Forum Member

Something is not right

This past week I worked as a volunteer in our church's denomination national convention as the one responsible for photo and video. I worked full time with the help of other volunteers working part time.

My setup was a K-x that I bought new in January of 2011, with a Metz 48 AF-1 dedicated flash. I also used mostly my Tamron 18-250 mm zoom lens, and for interviews my 33 year old SMC Pentax-M f1:1.4 50 mm lens.

I mostly shot with the Tv shutter priority exposure, ISO mostly at 1600, shutter speed in the range of 1/60 to 1/125. The venue was mostly illuminated artificially so this value was not too much of a factor. I shot over 3,500 photos and videos through the whole 5 work days of the past week.

The problem is this. I shot much more photos because I frequently was over and under exposed. I even was shooting an initial photo to see if the setup was ok. Most of the time I ended compensating with the EV compensetion setting. Is this as it should be, am I doing something wrong or is there something wrong with any one of my pieces of equipment? I recall that I had less trouble when I relied mainly on the built-in flash.

Is this how it should be? What can you guys suggest me to check or do? TIA.

07-29-2012, 03:38 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What mode was the flash in? PTTL, Manual?
07-29-2012, 03:55 PM   #3
Site Supporter

EV compensation affects the background. The flash can be compensated +/-2 EV using the edial in "flash mode" menu from the d-pad (Edit:I dont have a Metz, but you probably can reduce flash power similarly on the flash unit). If you are shooting wide open you might have too much light to be below Sync of 1/180 - the camera flash does not support HSS. If you dont want to stop down, its a perfect opportunity to mount an ND filter to get you to that slower shutter you require.