Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
07-31-2012, 12:37 PM   #1

Light meters?

Another noob here with a lovely K-r which I've just started to learn to use. In order to learn a bit more about photography in general I thought it might be a good idea to buy a cheap light meter off Ebay and have a fiddle about with it. What do the experts think?

07-31-2012, 12:42 PM   #2
dms
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Perfect adjunct to a dslr (that has a sort of spot meter) is an incident meter IMO. I prefer the selenium cell (no batteries) sekonic meter L-398. You likely can find a used one from KEH B&H, etc for around $30. as a guess.
07-31-2012, 12:47 PM   #3

Original Poster
I'm afraid we don't have B&H where I live. I'll have a look on Ebay for a Sekonic.

Just had a look. The cheapest is £100- $150! Anything cheaper do the job?
07-31-2012, 01:19 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by endure Quote
The cheapest is £100- $150! Anything cheaper do the job?
Any of the ebay meters will let you have a fiddle but may not have as many options or the accuracy. The Sekonic range has a very good reputation.

But what exactly do you want to do with it? If just learning and fiddling go with cheap, if you want something you will actually use for years then it will get spendy. I'm not sure there is any real need for a light meter today for the average photographer. For studio work, setting light ratios and so on, OK but just taking pictures? Use the meter in the camera in spot mode if you want to fiddle. Just my opinion.

07-31-2012, 01:34 PM   #5
Veteran Member