Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
08-02-2012, 11:28 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Just purchased a Prime lens for my K-X

So I'm fairly new to the DSLR world, as I got my Pentax K-X used from craigslist maybe a month ago. I've got up to speed pretty quickly, from reading the manual, practicing with it on different settings etc, and reading this forum.

This forum is amazing, and i feel proud to own a pentax with an awesome community of people like this.

I saw a SMC F series 50mm F/1.7 (got great reviews on this forum) on ebay and decided to bid and won it at $205. It has been amazing so far, and a HUGE step up from the old kit lens that it came with. Its really interesting, the photos are ready for reviewing almost instantly after taking the photo. For some reason it was slower with the kit lens. Would anyone know why?

But anyways, my real issue seems to come mostly from shots coming in really overexposed or pretty underexposed. I take shots in any modes depending on how much I care to adjust the settings around, but I've noticed that in say Auto mode, when Im outside in bright sunlight, I have to Underexpose things pretty much as far as itll go to get a more accurate to real life picture. In daylight things seem to get blown out super easily, and lots of clipped highlights..

Any suggestions on certain settings with this prime lens to get the proper exposure, or is it up to trial and error in Manual mode or something? Would a lens hood, or filter help?

08-03-2012, 02:02 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I had the F 50/1,7 and i never experienced problem with exposure... So i bet the problem might come from you

First, I suggest you to put the lens in "A" mode, and play with the aperture trough the body instead of the aperture ring.

Second, I suspect that at wider aperture you have more chance to clip higlights.