Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-03-2012, 05:08 PM   #1

Recommendations for good Digital Photography Book

I would like to purchase a book about Digital Photography. I have a fairly good understanding and background in photography and have a good grasp of ISO, Aperture, Shutter speed, etc.
However, my background is film photography. My new K-5 seems to be an entirely new beast. So much more to consider. I have heard the books by Scott Kelby are highly regarded and am considering purchasing one. I see there are 4 versions now. Should I just start with the 1st in the series (2006 version) or buy the latest which is Volume 4. Or should I be considering something entirely different. Thanks for any advice! I love this forum!

08-03-2012, 05:21 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Honestly if you know enough that you wouldn't gain much from a pre digital photography book, you may not need a book at all.

I think I can sum it up by saying, expose for the highlights and recover the shadows in photoshop (opposite of film). And watch the lighting range, you have a smaller dynamic range with digital than with film and highlights don't compress at all, so things like to go black or white ALOT.
A good book on photoshop would be more useful really.

Otherwise anything else tends to be camera specific and the manual covers that pretty well.

I recently bought a book on HDR but that's a more specific topic.
08-03-2012, 05:40 PM   #3
dms
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I agree with pppppp452 assessment. I came to digital (K20D) from decades using film and for me the big change was camera raw. And although not the latest photoshop--I used/really liked (late) Bruce Fraser "Camera Raw with Adobe Photoshop CS2" I looked at later revisions to this by Schewe, and I really liked the one for CS2 best. Anyway I believe using camera raw is the important step and thus learning how to use it.
08-03-2012, 06:23 PM   #4
Pentaxian