Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-13-2012, 09:33 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Should I purchase?

I'm new to DSLR cameras, dabbled briefly in a 35mm class in college, so I have some basic familiarity with more complex cameras. I currently have a point-and-shoot camera that I've had for ages and I want to upgrade to something that will take action shots of a busy toddler. I also want to use the camera for general vacation pictures and life events with dabbling in some outdoor photos. I would like to have the ability to shoot short video without having to carry a separate video camera, so I had considered getting a mirrorless camera instead of DSLR for that reason. Until I came across a Pentax K-X on Craigslist with two lenses (Pentax Takkumar 135mm 2.5 and Pentax M 50mm 1.7). They are asking $200 for the camera and stated that the AF/MF switch is broken (AF works with AF lenses and MF works with MF lenses, just AF lenses won't MF). My questions: 1. Does the AF/MF switch being broken impact the usage of the camera? Are there actually Auto focus and Manual focus lenses for this camera, and which type are the two above? If I purchase this camera I would probably be using the AF setting most (at least initially until I'm comfortable with the camera and my own abilities), could anyone recommend lenses?

Thank you everyone!

08-13-2012, 10:28 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
there are hundreds of manual focus lenses for any Pentax camera, every lens ever made for m42 or k mount cameras, far more than there are AF lenses actually. tyhe 2 lenses they are offering are manual focus, and the m 50 1.7 is quite a good little lens. for the price with the 2 lenses the camera value ends up about $100 a good buy. A basic AF Kit lens the 18-55 will cost about $50 on the used market

for lens info have a look here, All pentax brand lenses are listed, many 3rd party ones as well (including all new 3rd party lenses)