Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-15-2012, 08:56 PM   #1
Forum Member

controller flash problem

hi everyone, im just wondering if i have this wrong or not. i got a slave maker 2 optical flash trigger on a old flash and i was seeing if it worked. so i started playing with my k5 in wireless flash mode setting the flash to trigger and not master. the thing is the camera is still picking up the on camera flash and barely picking up my optical slave flash. is there something wrong with either the flash trigger or the k5? do i have some settings mixed up?

08-15-2012, 09:07 PM   #2
Forum Member

Original Poster
Update:

just tried wireless mode on my metz 48 af 1 and same problem, the on board flash seems to be registering but the off camera flash seems to not register at all! frustrated
08-15-2012, 09:14 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Not 100% clear on what you're doing... By onboard flash, do you mean the pop-up flash built into the camera?
the pop-up flash can only be used as either 1. Flash and wireless trigger at same time. or 2. Wireless trigger only.

Can you trigger the Metz wirelessly by the pop-up flash only? The metz will have to be in slave mode, obviously and there's only so much range that the built in flash will cover, so try starting out from 1m away.

The slave maker flash trigger thingy may not be the right flash voltage.
08-15-2012, 09:22 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
By register do you mean it affects the exposure of the image?

Assuming the flash actually fires then with the manual flash it should be firing at full power unless you have power settings on the flash set otherwise. The only things that would then affect whether the flash 'registers' is the distance from the flash to the subject and any power settings on the flash.