Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-16-2012, 08:20 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Film, lenses, digital, body

Hi, I am new to digital. I have an older Pentax 35mm film camera that I originally purchased my lenses for. I thought I read on the internet that my older lenses would work on a newer digital camera body so I purchased a used Pentax K-x digital camera body from eBay this past spring.
The lenses I have are: smc Pentax-DAL 1:35-5.6 18-55 AL, smc Pentax-A 1:2 50mm, and a Takumar-A zoom 1:4 70-200mm. I manually focus my photo in the view finder and then the auto focus blurs out the image and looks like trying to look out of window smeared in Vaseline. I changed the outside to "MF" but my shots are still not clear enough for me. I read on the internet (somewhere) that there is some kind of ring that I can buy to attach to the lenses to bring them into the 21st century. Does anyone know what this ring is and where I can buy it? PLEASE?! Thank you. Sunnie Murphy

08-16-2012, 08:42 PM   #2
Inactive Account

It is impossible to know what is going on without seeing the images, but I'll try my best to help.

The auto focus can't do anything with those lenses, they don't have the necessary hardware inside them for the in camera motor to do anything with them. They work exactly as they did on your film camera as far as focusing. Both of those lenses are known as "A" lenses, they report the aperture details to the camera so auto exposure can work and it does work great as long as the lenses are in "A" mode on the aperture ring. The main thing is the focus screen inside of a modern DSLR is not meant for manual focus, it is meant to be bright and it can show the DOF being deeper than it really is. There are replacement screens that are more like the old manual focus bodies, but with practice using the stock screen, you should be able to get good shots.