Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-18-2012, 02:40 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Tabletop photography

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi All

I'm new to Pentax and DSLR, and relatively new to photography in general. I have just bought a K-r with 18-55mm & 50-200mm kit lenses. I have been using a FUJI HS20EXR for about 8 months and have really got into tabletop/still life photography. I have done a general search of the forums and found little specific information on this type of photography.

My question is this, What is a good lens to get for this type of photography? My budget is VERY limited, don't even think about lenses over £200 and think a lot about those under £100

Also, am I missing a tabletop/still life group on the forums? I'm getting the impression that it isn't a popular style here. Am I wrong?

Here's a link to my Flickr page with some of my tabletop stuff CLICK I am interested in other styles but would love to be able to produce the same type of tabletop photos with my K-r as I have with my FUJI.

Thanks in advance and I look forward to hearing any advice.
Ray

08-18-2012, 02:56 AM   #2

Photos: Albums
The vast majority of my photos are tabletop stuff in my mini "studio". I mostly use primes; tamron 90mm, Pentax 35mm 2.4, Pentax 50mm A 1.7, and my newly acquired D-FA 50 2.8 Macro.