Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-22-2012, 06:09 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Need help to choose the right lens.. complete novice.

My hubby recently bought me a 2nd hand Pentax K100d. It was bought from a local photographer who was upgrading his portrait camera, but I am wanting to use it for equestrian events, lots of movent I haven't got a clue about the different lenses so I've been thrown in at the deepend & I'm really stuck
Could anyone help with my dilemma? Suggest a suitable lens? I have searched ebay for >SMC Pentax-A 50mm f/1.7 Prime lens< as I have been told previously that this would be the best lens? I do need an auto focus though and a few are advertised as >A< which I unterstood to mean auto but are in fact manual focus... Humphhh, so stuck at the minute Any help would be greatly appreciated Thank you in advance xx

Oh the lens currently fitted is a (full title) SMC PENTAX DA 1:3.5-5.6 18-55MM

08-22-2012, 06:21 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Try using the 18-55mm first, see what limitations it has, then think about upgrading. Without knowing the exact scenario, it is hard to recommend something.
08-22-2012, 06:25 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Hi, thanks for your reply Elliot I have tried the 18-55 a few times now but seem to get too much of a movement blurr around the hoof The events I am taking these pictures at will not allow me into the jumping/show arena to take shots so I am having to use full zoom from the side-lines and i just assumed this is where I would be losing quality & speed. xx
08-22-2012, 06:30 PM   #4
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
What aperture, shutter speed and ISO are you using in situations like this?

08-22-2012, 07:17 PM   #5
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by NikNak1980 Quote
I have tried the 18-55 a few times now but seem to get too much of a movement blurr around the hoof 1x