Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-23-2012, 12:26 PM   #1
Inactive Account

OPTIMAL export settings in Lightroom 4, for prints ?

Im sorry if im posting this in the wrong section. Im having a really hard time figuring out the BEST export settings for prints @ a print lab ? Do I just adjust the pixel per inch density ? I tried exporting @ 300 ppi, but it doesnt appear to make a difference in file size. I tried ordering a large panoramic print today and it said my file size was too small. I shoot in raw, edit in lightroom 4, export to a folder on my desktop. the only thing that I adjust is the pixel density, and "sharpen for prints" button. any help on this would be greatly appreciated. and please break it down in dummy terms, im still new to the photography world. thanks in advance for your help.

08-23-2012, 02:56 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Here's an article that helps to explain ppi: PPI, DPI, resolution and print size | DigicamGuides.com

In very layman's term (the only term I understand), if you're trying to do a really large print but don't have a lot of megapixels, you may want to set your ppi lower. 300 ppi is ideal for professional printing. 250 ppi is ideal for home/amateur printing. If you're going to be viewing the image from far away, then you can get away with lower ppi's.

I remember reading once that large billboards can be printed as low as 10-40 ppi and get away with it because of how far away people view them from. You may want to take those things into consideration. If you want to go with a larger print, try something like 250 ppi to see if that allows you to go big enough. I've printed stuff at 250 ppi and it looks pretty good. Most people would never be able to tell the difference.

Edit: Lower ppi's will allow you to get larger images. Lower ppi's may also degrade the quality. 250 seems to be pretty safe. I doubt 99 percent of people out there would be able to tell the difference.