Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-28-2012, 01:39 AM   #1

Newbie here

Hey guys!!!

Just got a Pentax ME Super from my uncle and this is my first camera.

Just wondering what is the best lens (wide angle) for a newbie to learn up about photography?

Thanks and sorry for such a newbie question.

08-28-2012, 02:05 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
How wide and what is your budget? What do you have now?
08-28-2012, 02:11 AM   #3

Original Poster
Currently, i'm having just the SMC Pentax M 50mm f2.8 and just sent my camera for servicing.

Is it advisable to get M 40mm lens for wide angle purposes? and also less than $60?
08-28-2012, 02:17 AM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome. I have a ME Super (as well as a K-x DSLR) - its a nice camera - nice bright view finder!

I have a Pentax M 28 f3.5 which I love (and is surprisingly cost effective) but there are lots of other options as well. Pentax K and M series lenses work well, as do Takumars (with M42 adaptor) - not to mention many other brands with K mount.
For wide angle I am guessing you are probably looking for lenses with a focal length of 24 - 35mm (unless you want to go really wide).

For M series lens reviews see: https://www.pentaxforums.com/lensreviews/category-SMC-Pentax-M-Lenses.html

Enjoy!

Jonathan

08-28-2012, 04:36 AM   #5

Photos: Albums
In my opinion the 50mm is a great focal length to learn with. If you want something wider than I would start to look for something around the 28mm mark. I never owned an ME Super but from what I remember it was a great camera. Have fun.
08-28-2012, 04:39 AM   #6

Original Poster
@ Jonathan: Thanks for the info!! I know there is a difference between Pentax M mount with Pentax A mount, but not really sure with K mount. Enlighten me?
08-28-2012, 05:05 AM   #7
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by daystriker Quote