Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-29-2012, 04:11 PM   #1

Which DSLR for very new newbie!

Hi all! I am very new to the better DSLR camera world. I have been shooting on a Fuji Finepix S6000fd DSLR for about 8 years. Before that I had a Pentax and Canon 35mm I learned on when I was a teen about 20 years ago. Needless to say, 3 children later I mainly take shots of them but we do travel frequently and I just feel the quality is lacking in my shots. Great compostion only goes so far. I enjoy setting up and creating the shots (mostly on Auto ) and do lots of enlargements to frame and enjoy.
Anyway, I thought I was ready to dive in and take the next step, but now I am overwhelmed...completely I have researched ALL DSLRs under $1000. I actually bought a Nikon d5100 but I think I will return it, it is way beyond my current skill set and cannot spend my life reading the manual. I want to learn but it frightens me frankly! And if I put the 18-200mm vr lens on it, it's spendy.

Do any of you feel the Pentax line may be more user friendly to dummies like me or which models might be? I need some speed as the kids are in constant motion, but I want to take quality portraits and beautiful landscapes as well. But I want a nice lens quality..

Sorry it sounds so stupid. I have been up hours every night for weeks and I just feel beaten...Just listening for anyone's 2 cents worth!
Thanks so much!

08-29-2012, 04:23 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
If you think the D5100 is too much for you, then I'm afraid the Pentax K-30 and K-5 will be even more.
08-29-2012, 04:43 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums