Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-02-2012, 06:47 AM   #1
Forum Member

Faster?

Hello Folks,

As a relatively inexperienced amateur I have been taking lots of photos and post processing them in Picassa 3. My camera is the K-5 with 18-55 DA L and 50-200 WR lenses. My subjects are typically landscapes, skyscapes, and wildlife. I try to compose each photo in the camera, and use zoom to exclude things that don't add to the image. I find that many of my best photos are shot at 200 mm, although when Iím away from man-made clutter, I use shorter focal lengths more often. I depend on Pentax Green mode for the technical details, but have been using P mode more and more as my education progresses.

When I load a photo into Picassa I hit the ďIím feeling luckyĒ button to see what happens. Usually the result is an improvement, making the photo more pleasing. Almost always Picassa lightens the photo, and enhances the contrast. Is this an indication that I would see a benefit from a faster lens?

Thanks, Tom

09-02-2012, 07:10 AM   #2
Veteran Member

No a faster lens means that the lens opening will be larger so more light hit the sensor and you get smaller DOF but it won't make your photos brighter.

Read about exposure and you know what to do.

Camera Exposure: Aperture, ISO & Shutter Speed
09-02-2012, 07:25 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
As Anvh said. With a faster lens in a bright environment the camera would simply close its aperture to the same size or compensate for it with a shorter exposure time to keep the image at the brightness level it perceives as being correct. Fast lenses are mostly needed in dark situations, particularly indoors, as they allow the camera to have a wider aperture.