Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-23-2012, 08:14 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
How sturdy are these cameras?

I started longer ago than I will admit, with a couple of K1000 film cameras. When I decided to invest in digital, one of the main reasons I stuck with Pentax is that both those cameras have had "adventures" over the years -- fell in the sand at the beach, got dropped off a horse, etc. -- and still work fine.
But digital cameras might be a different story, more delicate.
So there I am hiking along the trail at Natural Bridge in Oregon (highly recommend this) and carefully negotiating stones, roots, etc. I get to a flat place in the trail on a ledge high above the churning water and SPLAT I go down on my face. (I am a professional, 24/7/365 award-winning KLUTZ and specialize in tripping over my own shadow).
Well, I bounced around a few times and stopped, luckily before reaching the edge, clutching my k100D. Which also bounced. Naturally I was terrified that I had wrecked it. But amazingly the only casualty was the UV Haze filter on the front, which had several scratches, and the tulip lens hood, which cracked. The camera and lens (carefully and thoroughly cleaned out) have never skipped a beat.
"Takes a lickin' and keeps on clickin'" as a friend said. I wouldn't recommend this camera treatment (kinda hard on my body, too) but if anyone wonders, Pentax still builds sturdy stuff!

09-23-2012, 08:38 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

I dropped my K10D once while standing up on a mountain. It fell about 3.5 feet and impacted a rock, resulting in just a small scratch (about 1mm) on the bottom, as well as damage to the lens hood. Nothing else broke...so yeah, I'd say they're pretty sturdy! Definitely more sturdy that comparably-priced cameras (i.e. a Canon rebel).

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)