Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
09-24-2012, 01:52 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K5 Sync Speed - Anything Faster?

Is there any Pentax camera that can go faster than 1/180th? I'm new to photography (3 years) and Pentax ( 6 months).

How is it that I captured this photo at 1/800th of a second with pop-up flash and on my DMC-Fz30 (plus two strobes) but can only go to 1/180th on my K5?
Here is a link to the photo. Skate session with Alex Murry | Flickr - Photo Sharing!
Does the DmcFz30 have a faster sync speed?
I hope not, because I want to capture more action shots like this with my K5's resolution.

09-24-2012, 01:55 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Lots of small cameras have fast sync speeds, they have different shutters and smaller distances to travel.

You can shoot in HSS up to 1/8000 on a K-5 with an external flash.
09-24-2012, 03:29 AM   #3
Pentaxian

IMO you'd capture that boarder ok at 1/180th. Have you tried?
09-24-2012, 04:04 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Most action is captured by the speed of the flash, not the shutter. (look at water droplets, bullets through an apple, etc... almost always with long or constant open shutter)

Faster shutter speed will be useful to further cut the ambient light and reduce the need for ultra-powerful strobes to overpower the sun (ambient light).
If you're doing night or dusk shots, your shutter speed has little or no bearing on the images you're making.

But I would suspect the DMC-Fz30 has an electronic shutter and can sync with its internal flash at a much higher rate. It is difficult to make the mirror and mechanical shutter close that fast... High Speed Sync will help with the DSLR use flash at higher effective sync speeds, and you can read up on how that works, but it cuts the useful light output tremendously.

09-24-2012, 04:59 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter