Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
10-01-2012, 01:19 PM   #1

Reverse Mounting my 50/1.2

Hello!

This is my first post on the site (although i have been creeping for a couple months) and I'm glad to be part of the Pentax nation.

Although my regular shooter is a Oly E-600, I also shoot a K110D a K1000 and until very recently an MX.

I recently purchased a mint SMC 50/1.2 and I was thinking about using it for reverse mounted macro.

My question is this:

If I reverse mount another lens, say my 28/2.8, to my 50/1.2, are there any adverse side effects? I'm assuming that the added weight of the 28 or even another 50mm would not be good on the barrel of the 50/1.2 in the long run for an old lens. Would this loosen the barrel or anything of that sort?

Any help on this topic would be very helpful as well as very much appreciated. Also if anyone knows a better lens combo for macro, I'm not against friendly advising

10-01-2012, 02:50 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I personally have not heard reverse mounting on lens onto the front of another. I only way I know of and have done is use an adapter that screws onto the filter threads on the front of the lens and the other side of the ring adapter is the K-mount to attach to the camera. You will have no auto control of the aperture so when you stop down it will reduce your light as you set your exposure. In other words, manual mode only.
10-01-2012, 02:59 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I'd be reluctant to reverse-mount my 50/1.2 out of fear of scratching the rear element. Also, it is a rather heavy lens, and for reverse mounting I'd rather use something more expendable such as an M50/1.7 (known to produce good results reversed on extension). I wouldn't be as worried about reversing a 28/2.8 onto the 50/1.2, though, unless your 28 is a lot heavier than mine. How much magnification are you trying to achieve?
10-01-2012, 03:33 PM   #4
Site Supporter