Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-01-2012, 01:28 PM   #1

Choosing the right lens.

I am new to photography. I have taken pictures for years but with a small personal camera. I now have the Pentax kx and I love it. I have the 18-55 and the 55-200 for lenses. I am wanting buy a lens that will allow more light being that I take photos at Wedding Receptions. So I am trying to figure out what would be the best choice.

10-01-2012, 01:36 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Do you plan to take photos at weddings as a guest? Or are people asking you to help take pictures?

Do you know where you can take pictures from at the wedding? For example, will you get to choose your seat?
10-01-2012, 02:24 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Hot-shoe mounted flash will help a lot. It can be quite dim at wedding receptions and even with a 50/1.4 shooting without a flash can be difficult. For fast lenses, check out the DA50, DA35/2.4 and the FA Limiteds ($$$).
10-01-2012, 03:17 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by L33tGreg Quote
For fast lenses, check out the DA50, DA35/2.4 and the FA Limiteds ($$$).
Good advice. Also, if you're on a really limited budget, pick up an (used) A50/1.7 first. You'll have to deal with manual focus, but it'll show you just how much difference a "brighter" lens makes, and it has very nice image quality.

10-01-2012, 03:22 PM   #5
Veteran Member

How deep and filled are your pockets? I've heard that the 16-50 and the 50-135 are THE wedding lens duo for Pentax, but I have no personal experience with the two.
10-02-2012, 09:33 AM   #6
Veteran Member

I'll add the DA*55 and then the non-pentax fast primes: Sigma 30/1.4, Sigma 50/1.4, Sigma 28/1.8, Sigma 24/1.8. There are more if you want to go wider or longer, or don't care about AF. If $$$ isn't an issue, I'd go with the FA31. If that is too pricey, try to splurge for the FA43 or one of the Sigma lenses.