Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
10-10-2012, 11:39 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Help with K-5 Focal Point

I just got my K-5 and I’m still learning all the great features of the camera. One thing has me stumped and I could use a little help from a fellow K-5’er.
I know the camera has an eleven point auto focus system but I either have it set wrong or don’t understand it completely. On a friends Canon 6D, the ‘Red Dot’ in the view finder will move from one focal point to another each time you press the shutter button down half way so you can select the focal point you want. But on my K-5 the Red Dot stays in the center. Is there a setting on the camera to make it work how I described the Canon?

10-10-2012, 12:05 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There's a button on the back of the camera labelled AF. Around that there's a rotating switch with three positions. They choose how the AF points operate. The top position is center-point only. The bottom is Auto, where the camera chooses one point. The center one allows you to choose a point. Put that switch on SEL and you can use the 4-way controller arrows to choose a point. There's some customization to choose how the AF button or half-press of the shutter works, but that's the general idea. Page 127 of the manual.
10-10-2012, 12:50 PM   #3

Original Poster
I followed the instructions on page 127 exactly as you descibed but all the 4-way did was change the lighting type (bright, outdoors, tongston, etc). I must have re-read that section 5 times and always got the same results. I don have the camera with me but I'll try it again tonight. Thanks
10-10-2012, 01:52 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by BobbyA Quote
On a friends Canon 6D, the ‘Red Dot’ in the view finder will move from one focal point to another each time you press the shutter button down half way so you can select the focal point you want.