Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-12-2012, 12:44 AM   #1

Indoor portraits of 2+ people, best aperture/F value?

Dear camera people wiser than I...

I have treated myself to a fixed focal lens when it was on sale (pentax, 50mm, F1.4) for portrait indoor low light photography without flash of family and friends at celebrations (or indeed any time I have my camera on me).

Being a relative newbie I have been using auto portrait mode (yes, I know it's naughty to use auto modes, but I'm just starting out here!) which have produced some lovely results, with the classic 'wedding photo' look I've been going for, of someone looking handsome in gentle light with the background all blurry behind them (you know the type).

However I'd like to go off-piste now (ie stop using auto portrait), primarily because whenever I want to take a photo of two people, one will be in focus and the other not, despite being (to me, but obviously not the sensitive camera) in the same depth of field.

I think I've gathered that the thing that dictates this is the aperture/F value, so I was thinking of trying to use aperture priority next time (baby steps before I trust myself to be in control of the shutter speed and ISOs simultaneously too!). As such, I was hoping that someone clever could let me know what sort of F value I should be looking for that with the other settings sorted still gives me that dreamy 'things in background out of focus' look, but doesn't extend that to someone's face that happens to be a few behind or in front of someone else's (and without the flash on as I only have the rabbit in headlight inducing inbuilt flash on the K-r).

Many thanks.

10-12-2012, 01:13 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hi Meerkat,