Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
10-22-2012, 12:14 PM   #1

Tamron 17-50 2.8

I read that this is a great lens. I know some people get a bad lens and they have to switch for another copy. This is my second lens and I'm a real beginner. jhjh

My question is how do i know if my lens i got is a good copy? How do i test this lens and in future reference any other lens i get?
Thanks for any help you can contribute.

10-22-2012, 12:27 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
All you need is a brick wall. If you've got a tripod, even better. Otherwise, use fast shutter speeds. You'll want to use low ISO to ensure that image noise isn't an issue.

Now just photograph your wall at various focal lengths and apertures. View the images at 1:1 in the centre, edges and corners. Are they acceptably sharp? If not, you can try adjusting the focus in your body. Check that the images are equally sharp on both sides (if they aren't, you have what is called a centering defect).

Note that you can't expect best performance at F2.8; you'll see peak performance at F5.6. This is to be expected.
10-22-2012, 01:01 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by infos Quote
I read that this is a great lens. I know some people get a bad lens and they have to switch for another copy. This is my second lens and I'm a real beginner. jhjh

My question is how do i know if my lens i got is a good copy? How do i test this lens and in future reference any other lens i get?
Thanks for any help you can contribute.