Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-23-2012, 05:54 PM   #1

Is this lens or camera broken? (sample pics)

This is a new (most likely gray marketed) lens and body. The lens is a Pentax 40mm 2.8 and the body is a Pentax k-30.

When I first tested the lens today, it would not autofocus, only manual. However, it seems to be autofocusing now... Also, i cannot see exif data on pictures. Error messages just pop up when I try to see it.

Here are some sample images. I am new to photography so I'm sure a lot of it is my own error. But my pictures never looked this bad with other DSLR's.... So I thought maybe someone could tell me if it looks like the lens or camera is bad.

Here are some sample images:
1. http://i.imgur.com/WVhHW.jpg - This looks *very* noisy. Pretty sure I was at ISO 100 (but again, I can't see the exif data for some reason)

2. http://i.imgur.com/HtRI2.jpg - automatic everything with flash

3. http://i.imgur.com/avL75.jpg - SO blurry! Granted this was manual focus, but still.

4. http://i.imgur.com/Tn0zm.jpg

5. http://i.imgur.com/4bYDE.jpg - again, noisy.

* *I CANNOT see exif data (shutter count, shooting settings) from the pictures that I take with this camera. I've tried multiple websites and it either says that there was an error or no exif data exists. Why is this?

10-23-2012, 07:06 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The photos seem fine to me. I'm thinking the exif data was stripped by whatever software scaled the photos.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

10-23-2012, 07:10 PM   #3
Ole
Administrator