Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-28-2012, 12:19 PM   #1

K-R or K-01

Hi,
I'm new to digital cameras other than a small point P&S. I used a Nikon FG for years but have never been more than an avid amateur with photos. I have a Pentax 80-320 lens in great condition. I was planning on getting a K-R body but have recently learned of the K-01. It appears that the K-01 may be a better choice due to the size but I am unfamiliar with the mirrorless set-up. My main use of the camera will be extended trips on a motorcycle in the back country. Nature and wildlife will be the main focus of my pictures. Will my lens fit these cameras without an adapter?
Any guidance or input on which camera may suit me best will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

10-28-2012, 12:26 PM   #2

Photos: Albums
A K-30 would be much better suited for regular/constant outdoor use, as the weather resistant body will hold up a good bit better. It's also an all-round better bit of kit.
10-28-2012, 12:37 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
In order of preference - K30, Kr, K01. Shooting wildlife via the lcd screen would be awkward I would have thought. For general shooting and landscape it would be fine though. Your lens will work fine on any of these options.
10-28-2012, 12:42 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Image quality will be similar.

Yes your lens will work, no adapter needed.

Which one is more an ergonomics, personal choice. I would never consider k-01 as I do not like taking images using the LCD screen. If you are coming from a P&S background then it may be more comfortable for you. But wildlife with an lcd? Not sure I would want to try that. But k-01 is supposed to be a good little camera if you like the body shape / format.

10-28-2012, 12:55 PM   #5
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by MacG Quote
Hi,