Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-01-2012, 08:25 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Magnification with a FF lens on Pentax DSLR

When using a macro lens designed for a full frame format on a Pentax DSLR, I know the effective focal length is multiplied by a factor of 1.5x. What is the impact on the image magnification? For example if the lens is set to a 1:1 ratio is it still 1:1 on the smaller sensor? If not, is the factor to multiply by 1.5X ? I am new to macro. Your help would be appreciated in determining what equipment to use.

11-01-2012, 08:31 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
The magnification is still 1:1. You are receiving a cropped image on the APS-C sensor.

11-01-2012, 08:41 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It's more complicated than just sensor size, you also have to take into account sensor pixels per inch, etc. . A sensor with more pixels per inch produces more magnification. Just like in film, if you could use a super fine grain film, it would enlarge cleanly to a bigger print. More pixels per inch= fine grain film.
11-01-2012, 08:45 AM   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster

The magnification in the traditional sense is still 1:1 regardless of resolution (which is what you're referring to).

QuoteOriginally posted by normhead Quote
It's more complicated than just sensor size, you also have to take into account sensor pixels per inch, etc. . A sensor with more pixels per inch produces more magnification. Just like in film, if you could use a super fine grain film, it would enlarge cleanly to a bigger print. More pixels per inch= fine grain film.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers: