Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
11-08-2012, 06:11 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Basic Cleaning of Lenses

I am a noob with a very basic question: How do you clean a lens, front glass and back glass? (Not taking it apart) I only know the "breathe on it and wipe with a soft cloth or lens cloth" method. I keep a very well-worn piece of soft t-shirt in my pocket and camera bag at all times for this purpose.

I avoid commercial lens cleaner, having read that it is not good. I also avoid the "lens pens" at the stores. I'm super-afraid to scratch my lenses.
Also, how to clean fingerprints from a lens? Thanks.

11-08-2012, 06:15 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Don't do the "breathe on it" method. Your breath can have quite a bit of stuff in it.

Use a lenspen.
11-08-2012, 06:22 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I use a Giottos Rocket Blower to get rid of stray dust.
Buying one of those was probably one of the best photography-related decision that I've made in my life.
11-08-2012, 06:34 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Hi Tim,
The rule I follow is "Don't Touch"
I still have my first lens , a Pentax -M 1:2 50 mm purchased new in 1980 (32 years)
It was always capped and a UV filter was used except for occasional night shots.
It has been used industrially, in rain, snow, at the beach etc , always with a filter.

The lens was only ever blown with a bulb blower and never touched on the glass.
Still in almost perfect condition.

The Super Takumar service manual recommended cleaning a fingerprinted lens surface with a cotton or linen cloth totally devoid of starch with a mixture of ether and alcohol rato depending on humidity.
Sometime when i purchase an old lens I just use isopropyl alcohol with a cotton bud ( Q tip), trying to avoid the fluid running under the glass circumference.

11-08-2012, 07:22 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter