Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-09-2012, 11:46 AM   #1

Do HDR photos sell?

Hi Guys,

I am aware that HDR photography is not accepted by many as a pure form of photography. Lately I have been amazed by what it can do and have tried it myself with wonderful results.
Is there a market for HDR photography?
Has anyone found success in selling such photos online?

11-09-2012, 12:03 PM   #2
Pentaxian

I don't know if they successfully sell on-line, but a few months back, I bought 3 flash units from a professional high-end real estate (multi-million dollar homes) photographer. When asked the reason for selling the flashes, he told me he hadn't used them for at least a year, since he changed to HDR, and his clients were very happy.

So apparently HDR photos do sell.

As an amateur, I've been playing with HDR a bit. To me it's still a novelty; I haven't developed a taste for it yet.

Last edited by SOldBear; 11-09-2012 at 04:20 PM.
11-09-2012, 12:44 PM   #3
Pentaxian

It isn't that it is "impure", just that it is tacky. I'm talking about the over-HDRed super-obvious stuff. There will always be a market it for it I guess, like black velvet paintings and other stuff that is considered lowbrow taste, but it is dated already as far as I'm concerned. HDR as a technique to bring out the tones you want to bring out is certainly valid, but that fakey hyper HDR look? Ick. I put it on par with the 3-wolf t-shirt:

Amazon.com: The Mountain Three Wolf Moon Short Sleeve Tee: Clothing

(read the reviews on that shirt)

But I was at a market in a small town here in Colorado where they had a lot of local artists' stuff: tons of hdr landscapes -- they must sell some of it. Tacky!

I'm an elitist I guess...
11-09-2012, 02:34 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
As a general rule, non-photographers buy photographs.