Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-10-2012, 11:18 PM   #1
Inactive Account

New user, the lens question

Hi, it's the old "new user, which lenses?", I'm afraid. Any advice much appreciated.

I'm a new Pentax user, or at least I will be when my recently purchased K-5ii arrives, and I'm fairly new to photography in general. I'm upgrading from a Canon 20D, and have chosen Pentax mainly because I have a bit of a thing for old lenses (finding them and trying them out) and Pentax seems to accommodate this well. I currently just have a couple of inherited lenses, including a Sigma 100-300mm and a Takumar 28mm prime.

I'm looking to buy new (or recent) relatively budget versions of:
- a walk-about lens- the Tamron 17-50 seems to be recommended?
- a telephoto zoom, mainly for sports and wildlife photography- trying to decide between the Sigma APO 70-300mm f4-5.6 DG Macro and the Pentax DA L 55-300mm f4-5.8, or perhaps I should think about cutting back on the walkabout (going for a cheaper, kit-type secondhand lens) and try to stretch the budget to a Sigma 170-500mm? I'd probably be using the 300mm end of the range quite often, for action/sports type shots.
- a portrait type lens- I currently use my Canon nifty fifty all the time, I'd like a Pentax equivalent, but the 50mm 1.4 seems quite pricey.

I don't do much landscape photography, a bit of macro, but mainly kids and animals, lots of outdoors all-weather photography.

Thanks in advance!

11-10-2012, 11:35 PM   #2

If you are into shooting manual there are a bunch of lens that can be had than are quite good for less than $50,the Sears 50mm 1.7 is a good one.Take a look at the lens database for user reviews
11-10-2012, 11:53 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery