Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-26-2012, 07:20 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Gimbal head. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!

I have an Induro gimbal head and a 400mm f/2.8. I finally took the old tripod head off my tripod and mounted the Induro. Then I tried to mount the lens GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!
I could tell it was going to happen and it did. First the lens is so front heavy that it simply spun on the mount until it hit some other part of the head. I am not willing to crank the plate screw so tight into the lens mount base that this wonn't happen. Frankly, I don't think I could crank it down tight enough anyway.
In addition to the threaded mount hole, there are two other unthreaded holes in the mounting base. If I could screw something into one of those, I think the twisting could be stopped.
QUESTIONS:
!) Am I doing anything wrong?
2) Would you tap one of the extra holes so you could add another screw to keep the mounting plate from spinning?
Thanks for any help before I toss this lens out the second story window.

11-26-2012, 07:38 PM   #2
Site Supporter

I am probably completely misunderstanding but isn't that what a gimbal head is supposed to do? I thought the lens was supposed to spin freely on the mount and the weight of the camera in the rear and lens in the front need to be balanced so that it does not move. This is normally accomplished by moving the Arca Swiss lens plate back and forth in the mount until it balances.

Sorry if that is not your issue but if not maybe a picture would show what is wrong?
11-26-2012, 08:02 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Your complete misunderstanding may well be out done by my complete stupidity. Let me sleep on your input.
11-26-2012, 08:21 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery