Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-03-2012, 02:19 PM   #1

2nd lens: SMC-A 24mm f/2.8 or Distagon 28mm f/2.8?

Good evening,

I have come up with quite a wired question. I'm using using a k100d and a FA 50mm f/1.4. I don't use flash, and focus with a split-image screen, so the availability of a big aperture is quite crucial. Too often I'm missing a wider lens, and now I saved for a quite a while and want to get a second lens. Budget is ~ 200 euro.
Before I started studying 2.5 years ago, I was in the middle east for a year, and used a FA 35mm f/2 whenever I had time to go out. I sold it immediately when I moved. I had the impression that for most situations, it was too short (then I used the 50mm), or still slightly too long. Then I really didn't like how it rendered the parts not in focus. The good thing was the aperture of f/2, and that it was easy to focus, and did not have too much CA.

Now I'm looking for a second wide-ish prime which shall become the lens I use in most situations. I don't care if its fully manual, auto A or auto focus&A, and, just to give a first direction of ideas, thought of a Pentax SMC-A 24mm f/2.8 or a Zeiss Distagon 28mm f/2.8. I could get each for about the same price of ~200 Euro used, the Zeiss being slightly more expensive in the end because of the Leitax adapter I'd have to get.
I looked at many pictures on Flickr shot with these lenses, and the 28mm Distagon seems to provide the sharpness I'm looking for; but it seems still a tad too long; the 24mm Pentax seems to provide the frame I'm looking for, even has auto A which can be very comfortable, but seems overall softer than the Distagon.
And both are not really fast.

What are your opinions, what would you suggest? I guess I'm asking for a decision between two lenses that are difficult to compare; but, with my budged, which lens would you got for?

Best wishes,
Rapfl

12-03-2012, 03:24 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums