Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-03-2012, 03:47 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Looking for suggestions/critique

I am a beginner and still learning to use my K-7 to its full ability (first DSLR). My hit ratio for good photos (i.e. in focus and sharp - not composition wise) is still fairly low.

So, I have attached two photos from a walk today. I typically shoot in aperture priority mode, fyi, My main question is - when I zoom in (particularly the owl in the attached pic), it is not as sharp or in focus as i would like in order to crop and get a 'closer' pic. Just as an FYI, it was a very foggy day with no sun, which may or may not have contributed to it?

Am I not exposing correctly? Settings in camera incorrect? Something with focus?

Any suggestions and/or critiques would be much appreciated. I understand this takes practice so I am willing to put in the time... I have read 'Understanding Exposure' and I feel I understand the relationship b/w aperture/shutter speed/ etc... just not how to make a good photo with my understanding yet, lol...

PS: first time uploading pics so hopefully I did it correct.

Thanks!
DK

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-7  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-7  Photo 
12-03-2012, 05:48 PM   #2
Veteran Member

The owl picture is difficult for autofocus due to all the branches and stuff in the frame. For that, I'd change the autofocus setting to "spot" and focus only on the owl. You could do the same for the squirrel. With animals, set the spot on the eye, lock focus and recompose if necessary.
12-03-2012, 06:11 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Good start