Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
12-07-2012, 03:23 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Pentax M Lens aberrations

Hi, I'm new to photography and recently purchased a pentax K10D and it came with a pentax M 50mm f1.7
Most of the photos are turning out really well but im noticing some strange aberrations in my photos.
IMGP2406 - Kaelee's Album: night market - PentaxForums.com
Can Some one tell me what these aberrations are called and how can i prevent them?

Thanks

12-07-2012, 04:06 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery
Your link does not seem to work. At least on my computer.
I often use the same combination (K10D + M 50 1.7) and there are some aberrations, but stopping down usually helps...
12-07-2012, 04:35 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

A right-click and "open image in new tab" got me to the Flickr collection of night market, I don't see anything to complain about. A few of the high-contrast lights have a small amount of fringing, but that's possible with any lens. I like the 50 1.7 M better than any other Pentax "normal" lens.
12-07-2012, 05:04 PM   #4
Veteran Member

This is the image OP posted in their gallery:

I see some purple fringing around one of the lights - is that what you mean as an 'aberration'? It's sometimes hard to prevent, but stopping down can sometimes help. It is also relatively easy to clean up in post-processing using software like Lightroom.

12-07-2012, 05:17 PM   #5
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by rawr Quote
This is the image OP posted in their gallery:

I see some purple fringing around one of the lights - is that what you mean as an 'aberration'? It's sometimes hard to prevent, but stopping down can sometimes help. It is also relatively easy to clean up in post-processing using software like Lightroom.