Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-08-2012, 08:29 PM   #1

Seeking input on wildlife setup

Hello, I am an environmental science student looking foryour expertise on outdoor wildlife photography. Trying to decide on if I canmake this set up work with what I have and what I would need to add paralleledto starting a totally different setup and upgrade. I have the bare minimumequipment so farů Pentax K-X with the following lenses, SMC 1:3.5-5.6 18-55mm ALand SMC 1:4-5.8 55-300mm ED. I am still new to photography and still have lots tolearn. If someone could give me ideas of a good starting bundle and explain someof the basics, I would be grateful.

Here are my criteria to help narrow down your suggestion andinput:

-Looking to take majority wildlife pictures including aves,landscape, and vegetation.

-My budget does not include tens of thousands to spend onone telescopic lens. So basically I am looking for an intermediate to hobbysetup.

-all contribution will be appreciated

Thank you,

D

12-08-2012, 09:18 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
being a student suxz. All the energy and creativity in the world and no money to get you to where you want to be.

My suggestion is to look at the 20 year big picture. In 20 years one of your best lenses will be the pentax 35mm macro. While your average live insect may not like you getting that close, it is a great lens for other applications from flowers to landscapes. I would buy less but buy for the long term. My macros along with the 35mm include the pentax 100mm WR and the sigma 70mm also excellent lenses for a wide range of applications. I also have an ancient 100mm macro belows that I have used for 35 years. I would think a flexible macro.