Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 9 Likes Search this Thread
12-27-2012, 10:54 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Disappointing results

Since I am still new to digital photography, I posted this in the Beginners' area.

I have a Pentax K110D which I purchased used a few weeks ago. It is my first DSLR. Due to health and family issues which have occupied much of my time, I am still in the "try it and see what works" stage.

Last night, at the height of the snowstorm which hit the Northeast, I decided to play with it some more. I also pulled out my Nikon Coolpix L810, a point-and-shoot rig which I was given for my birthday earlier in the year, to do a comparison.

I set both cameras to "Night Scene" or "Night Landscape" and didn't tweak any settings. I had both perched on a porch railing to reduce any shake to a minimum. The results are below.

The Pentax photo is darker and redder, and the Nikon photo's colors are much more accurate. The little Nikon wins this one, hands down. Now, in the back of my head, this little voice is starting to say "Why the @#$! did you bother buying the Pentax?" And if my wife finds out, that little voice will be much louder!

I have to leave for work now, so I will not be able to see any replies until late tonight. Here's hoping that someone here can offer some suggestions on how to do better so that the little voice goes away...

Attached Images

12-27-2012, 11:00 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If the top is the Nikon and the bottom Pentax (the bottom one on my screen is both darker and redder as you stated) then I MUCH prefer the bottom photo for several reasons - its MUCH sharper and provides dramatically more detail in the shadows. You can adjust the JPG processing in camera to make the colors more to your liking but the sharpness and depth in the photo is not something you can tweak in the Nikon point & shoot.