Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-02-2013, 02:29 PM - 1 Like   #1
Pentaxian

35mm equivilant

I've read about this and even talked with a few people, but let me ask in simple terms so that I'm sure I get it. Sorry for the complete newbee question, but thanks for inviting me to ask it here.

I shot a roll of film this weekend on a 35mm SLR that I've had since the 80s using a 75-200mm zoom. If I had been using a modern Pentax (for example) DSLR like the K-30 or K-5 would the 50-200mm or the 28-135mm zooms have been most consistent on the outer reaches of telephoto?

Like wise, when I buy a lens for the K-5 ii that I hope to own soon to function as my fast 50mm film lens does, should I be looking at 50mm lenses or 35ish mm lenses?

Granted there is a lot more to consider in choosing lenses, but I'm just trying to make sure that I understand this one aspect for now. Thanks in advance for your answers. I hate asking what I know to be idiot questions, but it's better than not learning and since there are no Pentax dealers in my state and I'm convinced that I'm going to buy a Pentax, I'm trying not to ask them at my local, very helpful shop that would like to talk me into another brand.

01-02-2013, 02:39 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
A 50mm lens is a 50mm lens and a 35mm lens is a 35mm lens no matter what camera you are using them on.

The only thing that changes is the field of view.

Crop factor - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

So if you want a portrait lens on APS-C, get a 50mm. If you want a normal lens get a 28 or 35mm. Or just use the 50mm for both and take a step or two back.
01-02-2013, 02:54 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster
Thank you for the quick and patient reply. So, magnification doesn't change, but because the surface area capturing the image is smaller, the image is cropped more tightly?