Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8 Likes Search this Thread
02-07-2013, 10:15 PM   #76

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Once you shot RAW you will never look back.

You can do so much more with a photo that was taken Raw then any JPEG.

Example time.

because you can turn this

into This.

You can edit a photo so much better in RAW. Try it thats the only way to really understand the power of a RAW file. Just reading about shooting RAW will not do it for you. I thought why would I shoot Raw sounds like over kill the files are so big. A 20mb photo in DNG will be 7MB in JPEG format. So it takes up memory space for sure. For me it is worth the extra storage. I have 16 gb memory card. Now that I started shooting in the RAW I can't image shooting any other way.

Last edited by tahoejeepmom; 02-07-2013 at 10:24 PM.
02-08-2013, 12:08 AM   #77

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by tahoejeepmom Quote
True.
For me. Since 4 years I shoot only in RAW only.
(and haevn't time for changing to jpg all them, so I choose the best ones, few only, six, twelve...)

Prawda.
Jak dla mnie. Od czterech lat robię tylko w RAWach.
(I nie mając czasu na wywołanie wszystkich do jpg'ów, wybieram zatem najlepsze, ledwie sześć, dwanaście...)
02-08-2013, 04:29 AM   #78
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by tahoejeepmom Quote

You can do so much more with a photo that was taken Raw then any JPEG.

Example time.

because you can turn this

<dogsnow>

into This.

<cookrun4>

You can edit a photo so much better in RAW.
Objection, your Honour! (Well, partly at least).

I do not disagree with "You can edit a photo so much better in RAW" . The bit-depth in raw files is unquestionably higher, but it is a myth that one cannot salvage even rather bad exposures in JPEG.

With your permission (I hope) I have taken your "dogsnow" dark JPEG image and - even though it was highly compressed for upload - turned it into this, using a fairly simple software (PhotoImpact X3):
Attached Images