Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-13-2013, 04:12 PM   #1

Can't set aperture on FA 50mm 1.4

Hello all

I am a newbie here and need help! I just purchased a SMC FA 50mm 1.4 lens after having a manual 50mm. I loved my manual lens but was excited to have the ease of the FA. I am very new to photography and admit I have a lot to learn but this new lens has me stumped. When I set the aperture to any setting other than "A" it always shoots with an aperture of 1.4 no matter what number I have set it at. When in "A" it only shoots at 2.8 or 8. What am I missing? I tried all shooting modes and no change. I hope someone can help. I don't think the lens is defective so it must be something that I am doing wrong. Thanks!

01-13-2013, 04:17 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Hi. The behavior in any setting other than A is normal - you need to leave it in A and set aperture from the body. But you should have the full range of apertures available, 1.4 to 22. Have you made sure the contacts are clean?
01-13-2013, 04:27 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by ihasa Quote
Hi. The behavior in any setting other than A is normal - you need to leave it in A and set aperture from the body. But you should have the full range of apertures available, 1.4 to 22. Have you made sure the contacts are clean?
You will think that I am a complete idiot but.... how do you set the aperture from the body? With only using manual all I know is to set it at the ring. Everything looks great on the lens.
01-13-2013, 04:40 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
What camera are you using? If you set "Using Aperture Ring" to 2 Permitted in the Custom menu you can use the ring to set aperture, but you will have to use the Green button to set to meter.

01-13-2013, 04:47 PM   #5
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums