Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-18-2013, 09:18 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Pentax K-x Photo issues

I've noticed that images taken with the Pentax K-x that I purchased about 2 years ago are, and I'm searching for the correct word here, grainy or have matte like color discrepancies. I've taken two photos. one with the Pentax K-x in JPG format at 6 Megapixal setting, & 2.5 MB file size using Auto Pict setting, and the same image again with my samsung galaxy 3 phone camera. The phone seems to take a better photo, as far as this undesirable matte effect goes. Hopefully, the two pictures are attached. The color is truer with the K-x as far as comparisons to my eyes go, but moving the phone towards darker or lighter areas can correct for that pretty well.

I've also tried RAW, and increasing the file size to maximum, but same effect. I can take a photo of the sky and see this grainy/matte effect. I'm a very casual photographer so please treat me like I don't know much.

Any ideas?

thanks,

dan

(firmware updated to 1.03)

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
GT-I9300  Photo 
01-18-2013, 09:21 PM - 1 Like   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Your K-x image was taken at ISO 6400 so what you see is electronic noise which you will get at high ISO.

In good light as you had available you should use ISO 200 and your images will be clean.

The camera was set to Landscape mode which will use a small aperture (F14 here) and compensate by using a high ISO. You should practice using Av mode and set the ISO yourself (to 200) and a more reasonable F-stop like 8. In poor light you'll have to bump the ISO up to avoid too slow shutter speeds but that's another matter. Using ISO 6400 on the K-x is rather aggressive, though.
01-18-2013, 10:35 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums