Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-27-2013, 01:32 PM   #1

Party Shoot

Hey guys. first time poster here.

Here's my problem. I am in my first year of photography at college and have been asked to shoot my sister's partner's grans birthday on Saturday.
But I only own a KR with kit lens. They asked me how much I would charge having not done anything like this before though i'm a bit hesitant to do it.

Would you guys recommend anything ? or should I turn the party down or what?

any help big or small would be amazing.

01-27-2013, 02:08 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Is this going to be a formal celebration type party, or a night club type party? If its a club party, the kit lens and K-r could work if you have a good flash or at least a flash diffuser. You would have to take photos of all the nearest and dearest and of the most memorable situations. Remember that party photos don't need to be optically perfect. They should convey the chaos, the fun, and the uniqueness of the party. Just don't be shy, you will have to get into people's faces, smile, and take a photo of them partying.
Try taking photos in a dark place with second curtain sync. You can charge just a couple of bucks (for gas, for your time taking photos and developing them) or you can charge a little more and buy a decent flash. Ahead of time, make sure you read up on this type of photography, look at a lot of party photos (this is becoming a big business btw, there are a lot of photos online). Oh, and shoot raw and then use software to process the photos.

And don't worry about it You can even say you'll take photos and they can pay you as much as they think its worth it after you show them the photos.
01-27-2013, 05:04 PM   #3
Site Supporter

So you have been asked to shoot your sisters husbands grand parents B-day party?. If so, it is family and you can not charge nor refuse.
Just say yes and do your best with the gear you have.