Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 9 Likes Search this Thread
02-05-2013, 09:51 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Dirt/spots on my pictures :( Please help

Hello!
Brand new k 30, Ive had it for 5 days now, I took it out one night and took some pics, It started to rain a little bit...and really not even rain, more like a slight drop every now and then. The lens I have isn't the WR kit lens, but the camera itself is sealed.
Anyway I pinpointed the time when the spot first showed up, and it is that night between 2 pics taken practically back to back.
it seems when the f stop is like f/29 the spot(s) are very focused, at a wide open they appear more like dark translucent spots. I only have one lens...so I cant really change it out to see if it is the lens, however due to the fact that I pinpointed where they started happening I think it is the rain...? Although I am a total noob so....
Help! why would a weather sealed camera let rain into the insides so easily??
Also, I already used a lens brush and micro fiber cloth kit to gently sweep the front of the lens, although I haven't used any solution yet...

I attatched 3 pics, before after, and after at a different aperture.

Last edited by spectamaniac; 01-01-2014 at 11:13 PM.
02-05-2013, 09:59 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Well first, the weather sealing only works with a weather sealed lens. If you use the camera without a WR lens then there is potential for moisture or dust to get in via that gaping hole where the lens mounts. More simply, if the lens isn't sealed then anything that can get into the lens can get into the camera.

Now, the images are small and I don't have the best monitor now but where are the spots? The ones in the top, center of the last pic?
02-05-2013, 10:01 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by colonel00 Quote