Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-12-2013, 11:33 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Tripod newbie

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

god how many.

right im a newbie to dslr photography ive got a k30 with 18-55 and 70-300mm lens so far.

now i need a tripod but their are so many its getting a little confusing.
i dont want to spend the earth i just want a general purpose tripod i can take with me or use at home.

quite like macro and i do quite alot of shows i.e air, car shows throughout the year.

so as i joined up i thought i would ask you guys and gals what your using and what you would recommend.

going race retro in to weeks so need one by then.

please your guidance is needed.?

02-12-2013, 11:56 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Firstly, what's your budget? Cheap tripods tend to be a bit of a waste of time, as are cheap heads. Second hand can be a good way to go if your budget's low. As a rough rule of thumb, go for fewer sections as that tends to lead to steadier legs, lightweight tripods aren't as stable as heavier ones, and the head is as important as the legs. This guide might help you a bit. Best tripods and camera supports: 15 tested | News | TechRadar
02-12-2013, 12:00 PM   #3
Veteran Member

What Wildweasel said is spot on in most cases. What is also true is that in the beginning sometimes less expensive tripods are good enough.