Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-13-2013, 07:06 AM   #1

Film, witch ISo???

Hello all.

I am new to SLR and the use of film.
Have a old Pentax Spotmatic I have started to use.

But, what ISO/ASA to use? Right now I have some old 400 I am using. I find the photos ok,, but as I told you all, I have just started with these camera.
Is it a big difference from 100 to 400 film outdoors? Is a 200 a good all round?

Or will I not be able to spot the difference at my stage?

02-13-2013, 07:51 AM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
If shooting outdoors and it's nice and sunny, go for 100. For all-around shooting (outdoors, indoors, etc) I prefer 400.
02-13-2013, 08:00 AM   #3

QuoteOriginally posted by vegard_dino Quote
Hello all.

I am new to SLR and the use of film.
Have a old Pentax Spotmatic I have started to use.

But, what ISO/ASA to use? Right now I have some old 400 I am using. I find the photos ok,, but as I told you all, I have just started with these camera.
Is it a big difference from 100 to 400 film outdoors? Is a 200 a good all round?

Or will I not be able to spot the difference at my stage?
One question first: are you shooting colour negatives, slidefilm or black and white film?

Generally i would say that the choice of ISO is mostly a question of the lighting conditions in which you plan to shoot. If you want to go outside and shoot in daylight (which is rather bright), a low ISO like 100 allows you to shoot at lower apertures. Just an example: iirc the Spotmatic's fastest shutter speed is 1/1000s, which might be too slow if you wanted to shoot something at f2.8 and ISO 400, for example.
On the other hand, if you were for example shooting in lower lights, the ISO 400 might allow you to use faster shutter speeds and thus enable you to take pictures hand held in conditions that an ISO 100 film wouldn't allow for.