Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-15-2013, 10:35 PM   #1

M42 mount auto focus?

Hello everyone! I am a dslr noob and I just purchased an Auto Sears 55mm f/1.4. I should have gotten some info before I even thought about hitting "bid".

I didn't know I needed an adapter as in the auction it stated it was compatible with Pentax. Stupid me I know. I now have a 60 dollar lens sitting and collecting dust. I need to get an adapter, but I am unsure how to go about choosing one.

I am completely unfamiliar with old lenses. There is an M<--- --->A setting with a switch to go back and forth between them - am I correct in assuming this is for switching between manual focus and auto focus?

Are there adapters which allow for the use of auto focus?

I can't seem to find an adapter that is a genuine Pentax for less than 55 dollars. I think that is a tad ridiculous for an adapter. B&H is out of stock in them... is there an acceptable alternative?

Thanks so much everyone - I am so confused right now.

02-15-2013, 10:58 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Your lens is pure manual focus.

The A/M switch controls how the aperture works. On a modern camera you'll have to set to M (Manual) at all times which means that you manually set the apeture of the lens (the A was to enable yesteryears cameras to stop down the aperture "automatically" for you when you press the shutter button).

The adapter you need is this one which allows for a screw mount lens to be mounted on a K mount bayonet camera.

All this is probably too much trouble and you may be better off looking for an smc Pentax-A 50mm F1.7 or F2.0 lens. They can be had for about $50. These lenses are also manual focus but they don't need an adapter.
02-15-2013, 11:02 PM   #3
Veteran Member