Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-21-2013, 01:49 PM   #1

Confused about teleconverters...

Hello all. Perhaps there is a thread relating to this somewhere, but I didn't find it. I'm new to the system and have a question, if anyone's around to answer it.

I'm looking at grabbing the DA* 300mm f4. I was hoping that there would be a 1.4x teleconverter I could use with it, and I see people talking about Pentax potentially releasing one at some point (not sure why they don't have one already...). But is there a teleconverter currently on the market that will work with the lens (and allow AF)?
AF would be crucial for me and I wouldn't be interested if it didn't. Unless it was somehow high quality/very low price.

If anyone could enlighten me on the available teleconverters and their pros/cons/abilities, that would be super awesome.

02-21-2013, 02:14 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi There,
I use a Kenko teleconverter (2x, not the 1.4 though) and autofocus works perfectly and it's supposed to fit most lenses.
I can physically fit it to almost anything but I have only used it with film cameras and relatively cheap lenses so I can't give you a quantified idea of the image quality. I do know it doesn't show up in EXIF data.

Like all teleconverters, the light to the sensor decreases by one stop and get the best converter you can, there's plenty of previous threads on this subject if you look around.
F4 is probably about as slow as I would go using a teleconverter. The Pro 300 would be your best bet in the Kenko line.

Also, check out the teleconverter section in the lens reviews (if you haven't already done so).

Hope this helps somewhat

Bruce
02-21-2013, 02:18 PM   #3
Site Supporter