Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-25-2013, 04:47 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
DA*16-50 focus problem

Probably a stupid question but here goes. I am very new to Pentax and am using a K5iis & DA*16-50. Just how quiet is this lens' focus motor? I am having to manual focus every shot. I should mention that I purchased the lens from KEH via Amazon. I believe I have the camera's setting correct and a Tokina 80-400 focuses without any problems.

Thanks for any help.

02-25-2013, 04:59 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by LB1103 Quote
Just how quiet is this lens' focus motor?
Silent. I often check to see if it focused because I don't hear anything. But that has nothing to do with it not focusing. Can you see it focus in the viewfinder? Is the AF switch on the lens in AF?
02-25-2013, 05:12 PM   #3

Original Poster
Lens and camera are set to AF and no I can't see it focus in the viewfinder. Also, I haven't noticed if the distance scale has moved. It seems to always be on infinity.
02-25-2013, 05:26 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Try cleaning the SDM contacts, those are the ones inside the lens mount not on the perimeter. Should be two gold buttons on a black mount. Check them on both the camera and the lens. But to be honest that's a long shot.

Is the Tokina screw drive or SDM/HSM? I'm not familiar with it.

Try moving the AF button on the lens back & forth a couple times to be sure it is all the way in the correct position.

Set focus on infinity manually then focus on something close by and see if it moves. If not I am thinking it might be defective. Sorry I cannot think of anything else.

02-25-2013, 05:55 PM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by jatrax Quote