Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-01-2013, 07:59 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Looking to get an SLR but need help!

Hi,
I'm completely new to the SLR world but I would love to start learning how to use one. I have a Nikond5000 but I've been learning how to use my DSLR on my own so I'm pretty new to everything in the photography world. I'm looking to get a good beginner SLR that will help me improve as a photographer. Does anyone have any suggestions? I've been looking into the Pentax Spotmatic models but there are so many I can't decide where to start..! / where is a good and reliable place to get one. Thanks so much in advanced!
PS. I'm on a student friendly budget :/

03-01-2013, 08:04 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by secretdaze Quote
Hi,
I'm completely new to the SLR world but I would love to start learning how to use one. I have a Nikond5000 but I've been learning how to use my DSLR on my own so I'm pretty new to everything in the photography world. I'm looking to get a good beginner SLR that will help me improve as a photographer. Does anyone have any suggestions? I've been looking into the Pentax Spotmatic models but there are so many I can't decide where to start..! / where is a good and reliable place to get one. Thanks so much in advanced!
You mean like a film camera? The K1000 is great for learning the basics of exposure. However, you could also use your D5000, as it offers manual controls.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

03-01-2013, 08:22 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery