Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-28-2008, 10:14 AM   #1

K10D for a beginner?

I'm a beginner to photography. I've played around a little with an old Pentax SP500 of my father's and I have been reading lots on photography. I was looking at getting a K100D Super, but I was waiting for the new models to come out. Right now in Canada I can get a K10D with lens for $100 less than the K200D when it is released later this month. I don't plan on using the auto modes on the K100D/K200D, and I'm thinking that I may eventually outgrow them. Is the K10D too complicated for someone who is not only a beginner to DSLRs but to photography?

02-28-2008, 10:22 AM   #2
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
In a word no. It will be a little daunting at first but the camera is fairly simple to use once you've played with it some, asked questions here and done some backyard practice. You'll wind up learning much of the same things with the K100/200 anyway. The k10D is just a more advanced camera and is frankly a little easier to use. There are more direct control buttons on the body than the K100/200 series and you are in the menus far less when shooting. For auto shooting there are a couple of modes that will do a good job with little input (P and the green mode).

See if you can find a Magic Lantern guide for it at the local Chapters. A good book and lots of good information. Second thing would be Bryan Peterson's "Understanding Exposure" 2004. It might be around in a used book store but even new a very good book to get you started.

Welcome to the forum and nice to see someone from my neck of the woods.If you don't mind me asking, What town are you located in? I'm originally from Halifax and Chester.
02-28-2008, 10:27 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Peter Zack Quote
"Understanding Exposure" 2004.
Some of the best advice I have ever received if not the best regarding photography...